Skip to content

With a little help from my friends

May 22, 2012
tags:

2 Timothy 3:16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness

Some of you may remember a recent post entitled More Christian Than Christian?

In it I shared a video that Brother Mike made about the literal, dictionary meaning of the word Christian and who it applies to.  A friend asked me about the end of the video where Brother Mike talks about various kinds of wickedness that one might engage in on Shabbat. I gave an off the cuff reply to my friend which I posted as part of blog entry.  My friend Zac at New2Torah pointed out that my thought process didn’t quite stand up to the light of scripture by sharing a section of  Isaiah which I was previously unfamiliar with:

Isaiah 58:13 If thou turn away thy foot from the sabbath, from doing thy pleasure on my holy day; and call the sabbath a delight, the holy of the LORD, honourable; and shalt honour him, not doing thine own ways, nor finding thine own pleasure, nor speaking thine ownwords: 14Then shalt thou delight thyself in the LORD; and I will cause thee to ride upon the high places of the earth, and feed thee with the heritage of Jacob thy father: for the mouth of the LORD hath spoken it.

The first couple of times that I read it it was a little confusing so let’s take a look at it in plain english:

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

Isaiah 58:13“If you hold back your foot on Shabbat from pursuing your own interests on my holy day; if you call Shabbat a delight, Adonai’s holy day, worth honoring; then honor it by not doing your usual things or pursuing your interests or speaking about them. 14 If you do, you will find delight in Adonai — I will make you ride on the heights of the land and feed you with the heritage of your ancestor Ya‘akov, for the mouth of Adonai has spoken.”

Jewish Publication Society 1917:

13 If thou turn away thy foot because of the sabbath, from pursuing thy business on My holy day; and call the sabbath a delight, and the holy of the LORD honourable; and shalt honour it, not doing thy wonted ways, nor pursuing thy business, nor speaking thereof; 14 Then shalt thou delight thyself in the LORD, and I will make thee to ride upon the high places of the earth, and I will feed thee with the heritage of Jacob thy father; for the mouth of the LORD hath spoken it.

Clearly we can see that we should be turning away from our own pleasure on Shabbat and focusing solely on Him. If you are chosing a Shabbat activity that allows you to have fun while focusing on Him, that is what I think we are to strive to do. I don’t think that pleasure on Shabbat is wicked, but rather, not remaining focused on Him is where wickedness takes hold.  We should relax, we should rest, and we should place Him and His Word as a frontlet before our eyes.

Leave a Reply

